A Faerie a Day in November

No, it’s not a new diet.

I’ve been debating, thinking about attempting the National Novel Writing Month, or the National Game Design Month. I like the idea of committing to a writing project, but November is brutal day-job-wise. It’s the busiest month of the year, and during the thirty-day month I have six days off. Including the US Thanksgiving holiday. That doesn’t leave a lot of time for daily writing. I’m glad my freelance projects are “in the field” (out in playtest land and off my writing desk).

But, I like the idea of committing to a creative endeavor. I started thinking about creating a monster a day for Ars Magica. I could do that, I think. Then I ran across a fellow freelancer, Mr. Ben McFarland, who is undertaking the same project. Well, actually, he’s attempting a greater feat and committing to creating two to three monsters a day. That’s too big a bite of pie for me, ma’am. He started talking about an alphabetical listing of creatures, and I so liked that idea I asked if I could steal it. He agreed, good chap that he is. Listing creatures alphabetically makes me think of primers written for children, “A is for Aardvark,” and that made me think of rhyming couplets. Something like:

“A is for Aardvark that’s stuck in a tree,

How did he get there is a mystery.

B is for Beaver away from his fjord,

Buying a hat that he cannot afford”

You get the idea.

So I thought, “What if I did a creature a day, plus a little rhyming couplet, plus an illustration.” Illustration is a kind word. “Doodles” is better. (“Crap” more accurate.) A critter, plus poem, plus doodle. Hmmm. Can I do that?

Mr. McFarland is going to make magic creatures. Ars Magica makes a distinction between magic creatures and faerie creatures. More importantly, there are two different methods of making each type of creature. Pain in the butt, yes, but it happens with a freelance team of authors and it does give distinction between the two types of supernatural entities. A magic dragon, for example, can’t have the same statistical attributes as a faerie dragon, which helps differentiate the two. Since Ben is doing magic creatures, and using the rules found in Realm of Power: Magic, I’ll make faerie creatures and use Realms of Power: Faerie.  I like this split. Faeries by their nature need human interaction, and each faerie needs some emotional connection to humanity, some story that links the creature to its audience.

So, a Faerie a Month in November means that each day in November I’ll create a faerie creature for Ars Magica, accompanied by a rhyming couplet, a couple short story ideas, and a sketch.

Here we go. Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Ars Magica, Faeries. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Faerie a Day in November

  1. Timothy says:

    Good luck, you madman, you. 8)

    I thought about it, but I used up a lot of my at-hand resources doing the original book. The one idea I did have was to use the Japanese books of demons for inspiration, like http://obakemono.com/ and the things it is based on.

    So, if you get stuck, have a quick flick through, maybe.

    Good luck!

    • Matt Ryan says:

      Thanks Timothy!
      I’m sure I’ll repeat entries that you’ve done. My attempt is more an exercise to get my butt at the writing desk than to accurately stat appropriate medieval faeries. I’ll give your book a thorough workout, and I’m actually looking forward to that. I know I was critical of your treatment of faeries in the past, and I hope to be proven wrong by month’s end. I’m looking forward to using your rules to make all these faeries.

      Last I’ve seen you haven’t decided on a November project. Have you now?

      • Timothy says:

        Perhaps – I have the kernel of an idea, at least.

        I’ll kick it off next week. It’s working title is “Thirty Objects of Desire”.

        People who didn’t like the meta in Realms of Power : Faerie should leave this well alone. 8)

Leave a Reply

