In the beginning

Thinking about my friend Judd the Librarian’s recent post about creating cosmologies, I was serendipitous surprised by my son’s afternoon creative writing doodling. Maybe it comes with the territory of living with me, but he’ll often sit down and jot out some notes, invent a quick story, imagine a D&D monster, or outline a sci-fi story. Tonight, while I was Skyping Ars Magica with the Boston gang, he wrote the beginnings of a religious tract for Augustonia, his invented world/city/reality. I asked him if I could post it and he agreed. The following  is entirely his. I tried to keep the punctuation and spelling consistent with his text, which is written on graph paper, by the way.

In the beginning god proclaimed:

Thou shalt not worship the devil.

Thous shalt not consume evil things.

Thou shalt not mention the devil’s name in holy places.

Thou shalt not feel greed.

Thou shalt not go to war for wrong reasons.

Man was aware of these things; for man loved god. They worshipped him every day. They followed the proclamations. But one day, a man named Lineus refused god, and seceded from our religion and acted in all five sins. Eventually, Lineus created the underworld labyrinth, and became the devil. He created the bad things in the world. And he said to man:

I grant thou these things that come from greed, one of the five sins.

And he then said:

I give the sadness.

I give thee hate.

I give thee pain.

I give thee jealousy.

I give thee anger.

I give thee misery.

And I give thee suffering.

And god was saddened at this and said:

I am sorry for Lineus’s misdeeds and as I can not take away those things,, I can give you more.

And god said:

I grant thee liberty.

I grant thee hope.

And man was happy, for hope helped them in their sadness and liberty always gave them truth. Eventually, Hope and Liberty became physical beings and became other gods. But then god said:

I am sorry, but with Lineus,s misdeeds come new sins.

And then god said:

Thou shalt not feel jealousy

Thou shalt not feel hate.

But Lineus was still not happy and he said to man and god:

I am not happy with Hope and Liberty, and I give myself these demons:

Astinad, demon of war,

Lentora, demon of Jealousy and Greed,

Polentar, demon of Anger and Hate,

Storelen, demon of Pain and Suffering,

Torecus, demon of Sadness and Misery.

God was mad at Lineus and soon started to create more lesser gods to defend Earth. Among the gods were:

Banided, goddess of Happiness,

Vaniber, god of Wisdom,

and Lockitle, god of Peace.

And man was happy, and soon the great city was ready to be built. The builder was a man named Pilan, and the day before the city was to be built God told Pilan to make the city with great walls and name it Augustonia. So Pillan (intentional change in spelling?) made the city with enormous walls that nearly reached the heavens themselves. One day the demons decided to invade Earth and make man suffer. So they arose from the Underworld and attacked the great city. But the city’s walls protected man and the gods descended upon Lineus and his horde of demons and banished them to the Underworld. Lineus was furious after his defeat on the mortal plane and said to man:

Thou may have stopped me at the walls of the great city, but your god cannot save you from yourself.

And Lineus infected the minds of a select few, so that they worshiped him and not god. One of them was named Pillotheus and worshiped Lineus so much that Lineus came to the mortal plane and took Pillotheus to the Underworld to be his eternal assistant. (“Eternal assistant?” Sounds like my day job.) One day Pillotheus and Lineus decided to once again attack the great city of Augustonia. Lineus came to the mortal plane and told his followers to burn the walls of Augustonia so that Lineus could destroy Earth. On the day of the attack the followers of Lineus burned down the walls of Augustonia and the demons destroyed half of the city. Then a man named Torentheus rose up with a great army and slayed the worshipers of Lineus so that god could once again banish Lineus and his demons.

Aug’s text ends here, but I think he is planning on continuing.

This entry was posted in by August Ryan, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

